Florida is one of the 36 states where cannabis is legalized for medical purposes. The legalization extends to overseas territories like Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. However, cannabis laws in Florida have strict conditions for possession and consumption of the substance. There’s plenty of information available that you need to know about marijuana charges in Florida.
Medical cannabis has been legal in Florida since 2016; however, it’s still prohibited for recreational use. CBD oil has been legal since 2014. The possession of illegal marijuana can land users in jail. Consumers who get caught with 20 g’s or less go to prison for one year. They also must pay a $1,000 fine and have their driving license suspended.
Possession of more than 20g is considered a third-degree felony. It’s punishable with five years in jail, plus $5,000. Nevertheless, cities and counties managed to pass reforms to apply less severe penalties.
Several counties and municipalities passed reforms aiming at greater flexibility regarding penalties. Most of them replaced the one-year incarceration for community services, civil citations, and fines. Among those counties, we find Miami-Dade County, Broward County, Palm Beach County, Tampa, and Orlando.
Related laws were also relaxed in Sarasota, Cocoa Beach, Port Richey, West Palm Beach, Key West, Miami Beach, and Hallandale Beach.
Medical Cannabis Laws
Legal cannabis must be purchased in authorized dispensaries and follow a few rules. Marijuana buds and flowers also must be kept in a tamper-proof container. First of all, state laws don’t allow the consumption of high-THC products in public. However, it’s possible to self-medicate with a low-THC product in public.
It’s not permitted to share medical cannabis, even with another registered patient. Self-medication at work must be allowed by the employer. Like alcohol, no one can drive any vehicle after consuming a high-THC medicine. THC-based medicine can’t be taken outside the state, even if it’s to another state where it’s legalized.
Qualifying For Legal Usage
Every patient must be registered in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Otherwise, the patient won’t have access to the dispensaries. Patients will receive a card upon registration and must carry it at all times. Law enforcement agents can request patients to produce it at any moment. Additionally, users must undergo regular exams to keep their authorization cards.
Patients with one of the following diseases can qualify for treatment using cannabis:
- Parkinson’s disease
- Chronic seizures
Marijuana is still illegal for recreational purposes. Still, Florida has comprehensive laws regarding its medical use. Selling cannabis without a due license is a third-degree felony. Make sure you follow the required processes and procedures, so you don’t need to stress.